Book Tags

Ariana Grande Positions Book Tag

Hey everyone! Today I’m doing yet another book tag of an album that, in my opinion, it’s one of the best released this year. I was over the moon when Ariana Grande announced Positions (both single and album). I’ve loved her since she was on Victorious and yeah, I guess you can say I’m an arianator, lol. Positions is just really good, from the vibes to the lyrics and just the whole concept of it. My favorite three songs are definitely Safety Net, POV and Positions!

Ever since it came out, I wanted to do a book tag of the album, but life got in the way and I just didn’t have the time. Last Sunday I found this amazing book tag created by Rachel from Let Me In the Library and I decided to give it a go!

Without further ado, let’s get started!


shut up – a book you couldn’t shut up about

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E Schwab – I recommended this to everyone and their grandmas after I finished it. It’s just SO good, the concept, the characters, the originality of the plot, that beautiful writing style… let me go cry in a corner for a bit.

RECOMMENDED: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E Schwab (review + moodboard + favorite quotes)

34+35 – a book that you stayed up to finish

Let me reminisce to my good old high school days where I stayed up reading JB fanfics on Wattpad. As of now I’ve become an old lady who falls asleep at 9 PM.

motive – a book that left you questioning everything

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins – If you read my review of this book, you know that this was a 5 star read for me until the third part of the book, where everything went to hell stopped making sense. I don’t understand why Lucy Gray did that thing at the end and the whole purpose of the book (which I was sure was to let readers know why Snow became a villain) was NOWHERE in sight. I felt like I didn’t learn anything about his reasons to become a villain and… ugh. I just had so many questions at the end.

just like magic – a book with all your favorite tropes

This one is hard, because there aren’t many books with many different tropes in them… and since I don’t want to spend the whole day thinking about one that applies, I’ll go with These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong which has enemies to lovers to enemies to lovers again, (because who doesn’t love that??)

off the table – a book that raised your standards

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas – These books raised my standards on the Fantasy genre. We have good and interesting politics, many intriguing subplots, many magical beings, and amazing couples (canon and uncanon). I literally can’t ask for anything else (well, a better love interest than Rowan perhaps…)

six thirty – a problematic book you love anyway

I think I haven’t read anything problematic in a long while?? I like to be well documented on a book before reading it (unless it’s a new release, because in those cases it’s usually not possible), and if it comes to my notice that the author is problematic or the story has problematic elements on it, I just pass. There are many good unproblematic books out there I want to read, lol.

safety net – a book you immediately knew was a 5 star read

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E Schwab – Here we have Addie again, but it’s true! From the very first pages, with that flawless prose and the intrigue levels rising and rising, I knew I was going to love it. And I wasn’t wrong.

my hair – a well-known author whose work you haven’t touched but are interested in

Rick Riordan – Everybody and their grandmas seem to love Percy Jackson and his other series (which I think is Heroes of Olympus). I’ve been meaning to read those for a while but haven’t got the chance yet. I also really like how he supports POC authors with his imprint (getting books like Aru Shah at the End of Time and Paola Santiago and the River of Tears in the hands of readers).

nasty – a new release you can’t wait to read

Ahhh I could name so many!! But if I were to choose, I’d say Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim as I LOVED The Blood of Stars duology and I cannot wait to see what she has in store next.

west side – your favorite series

The Shadowhunter Chronicles – This is such a big, big world that has been with me for almost a decade now. It might not be the best of the best out there (I’ve certainly read books with more original plots and better tropes), but something about Clare’s writing style and how she pulls the story off, as well as the nostalgia from this being one of the first series I read, makes it my favorite.

love language – a comfort book you keep returning to

I don’t reread a lot, you should know by now! But Alice Kellen’s book (a Spanish author) are all my comfort reads. She has the ability to write different stories and make me feel at home with each and every one of them.

positions – a book that subverted a cliché

You Should See Me In A Crown by Leah Johnson – I’m not sure if it applies, but in this story, Liz Lighty defied (and crushed) the stereotype of all prom queens having the same blonde, blue-eyed look, being the most popular girls of their school, and having absolutely no “valuable” aspirations in life. She’s Black, queer, definitely not popular and dreams of going to Medical School one day.

obvious – a book you loved from a genre you don’t normally read

I don’t read much non-fiction (I’m slowly trying to read more of that genre!), but I really liked I’m Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness by Austin Channing-Brown. She addressed how people belittled her for being Black and for being a woman, and how she handled that (like a queen if you ask me). I loved her writing style, and this is such a necessary and impactful read, I highly recommend everyone to pick it up.

POV – a book you’d love to see told from a different point of view

Give me Clockwork Princess from Jem or Will’s POV, in first person, and I’ll give you my left kidney.


Prompts

shut up – a book you couldn’t shut up about 34+35 – a book that you stayed up to finish
motive – a book that left you questioning everything
just like magic – a book with all your favorite tropes
off the table – a book that raised your standards
six thirty – a problematic book you love anyway
safety net – a book you immediately knew was a 5 star read
my hair – a well-known author whose work you haven’t touched but are interested in
nasty – a new release you can’t wait to read
west side – your favorite series
love language – a comfort book you keep returning to
positions – a book that subverted a cliché
obvious – a book you loved from a genre you don’t normally read
pov – a book you loved to see told from a different point of view


That’s all for this post! I hope you liked it. What’s your favorite song of Positions? What’s your favorite album of Ariana? Let’s talk in the comments!

twitter goodreads email pinterest bloglovin
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

2 thoughts on “Ariana Grande Positions Book Tag”

Leave a comment